FUCK YOU, I’M SKINNY: A Comment On Gyaru-Bible Popteen

Hey everyone,

My friend Chika suggested that I’d comment on Popteen’s latest issue (since our relationship is hasn’t been the best lately. yes I’m talking about the magazine) .
Now, I have to disappoint everyone who expects a decent, well-researched and objective post because that will never happen. Not because I’m not able to write a decent, well-researched and objective post, but because I don’t want to. I want to use casual language, swear a bit and show you what I feel. That’s what this is about, right? Truth and stuff.

DISCLAIMER.

  • I do not hate skinny people. Nor do I hate people who want to be skinny. Or people who are working on being skinny (but I hate people who are like ‘Oh all the girls in the mags are so pretty and I wanna be like them skinny and pretty and hot because all the guys love that’)
  • I don’t ‘hate’ gyaru girls. I hate some of those whom I met, which is a specific group. A few people. Not the whole community.
  • Yes, I do sometimes envy girls who weigh less than I do because they have more choices when it comes to clothes.
  • No, I don’t consider myself as fat. I’d say I’m a lazy person who tends to feel better after eating something delicious. Which is sometimes quite a lot.
  • I’m not a guys-love-curvy-women-person because I KNOW that some guys just prefer skinny girls and some prefer curvy girls. It’s like a guy is a bad person just because he doesn’t find me attractive. I find most guys unattractive, too. It’s their choice, isn’t it?
  • I do not dislike Popteen because of all the skinny models featured inside. I dislike Popteen because that magazine encourages young girls to lose weight even if it’s fine not to, to do plastic surgery and to spend their money on expensive and dangerous diet pills. Also, some tips to find a boyfriend are just plain stupid but then again, that’s not part of our topic.
  • Yes, I like a Popteen Model called Marimo. I love her style and the fact that she’s not as skinny as other models. No I don’t think that this makes me a hyporcrite, she’s not bound to be a Pop-Model forever.
  • Yes, I used to like Popteen after I got into mainstream J-Fashion. Yes, I also thought ‘I wanna be skinny like those girls!’ Until I remembered that I’m an 1.67 m tall european girl who loves to eat Wiener Schnitzel.
  • I think I’ve got everything covered now.

Starting off with Kumikki. How can anyone stand her fake smile? I admit, Kumikki is sometimes ‘pretty’ but most of the time I just find her fake. Also, I bet she’s a total bitch. The way she talks, all nice and sweet – FAKE. (Okay I know that doesn’t belong there. I just had to say that.) Anyways, even Kana Nishino (who looks like she covered a massive hangover with make-up) looks better.

Okay no. First, I’m sick of Boy London. Yes, we know it was an awesome underground brand from – guess what – London!  But hey, we’ve had that all summer (and among bloggers, probably since the beginning of the year) but there has to be a line. Second, you are not giving me this look that jelly and practically every fashion magazine in japan has featured all summer! Also, wearing those weird uggs. Really, what the fuck. There are so many things wrong in this picture…

‘I dunno what happened, lace and leather usually work so well together…. puripupuuuu’ (sorry marimo but this time it’s you)

A cheeky smile, cheap leather and a cute, but unfitting beret. Well, that’s just normal for Popteen.

I thought we got over those super-excited-but-totally-dumb-poses? I can sense a kind of desperate aura here.

Nothing to add.

Weird faces, half-open mouths… Welcome to POPTOWN.

What is wrong with this picture? Comment below.

Going back to classy? Wow. Someone needs to get a constant style (seriously, this has been going on for months.)

What is wrong with this picture? PART 2 (maimai should try not to look like an eight-year-old)

Can you spot the mistake? (By the way, those two girls in the center are quite often on Tokyofashion)

Hail to Photoshop.

Tokyo Fashion Week started today and I’m super excited to see dresscamp and jun okamoto! I bet FashionTV will show some great footage.

xxx

10 responses to “FUCK YOU, I’M SKINNY: A Comment On Gyaru-Bible Popteen

  1. Hello, on the first photo, the girl on the right shouldn’t be able to stand like that.

    And also, I’m the editor of an english Gyaru magazine. It’s about to publish it’s second issue a we’ve got a lot to learn, I would love to hear any feedback from you on what we should do or what’s the best direction to take.

  2. Hi!
    Der Post ist zwar schon etwas älter, aber ich will trotzdem kommentieren.
    Ich, für meinen Teil, mag die Popteen.
    Klar, wirken viele der Models zu dünn und das Lächeln wirkt oft ‘fake’.
    Aber!: Ganz ehrlich muss ich sagen, dass du das Thema, über das der Post wohl sein sollte, nämlich wie der Titel sagt, dass die Models der Popteen das Abnehmen unterstützen, völlig verfehlt hast.
    Der ganze Post klingt einfach nach ‘Herum-ge-hate’. Ernsthaft mal: Glaubst du die Models können was für die Wünsche des Magazins? Ihnen wird doch vorgeschrieben wie sie posen sollen etc. und wenn das Magazin dünne Models will, arbeiten sie eben dafür dünn zu bleiben, weil es ihr Job ist.
    Das wollte ich mal gesagt haben. Das ist keine persönliche Kritik an dich, sondern nur über deinen Post. (:

    • Hey 🙂
      Zuerst: danke für deine Kritik. Um mich weiterzuentwickeln und meine wenigen Leser zu verstehen, ist sie mir sehr wichtig.

      >Ganz ehrlich muss ich sagen, dass du das Thema, über das der Post wohl sein sollte, nämlich wie der Titel sagt, dass die Models der Popteen das Abnehmen unterstützen, völlig verfehlt hast.

      Das hast du wohl missverstanden. Das ist der eigentliche Grund, warum ich die Popteen nicht mehr mag. Darum habe ich es auch in den Disclaimer reingeschrieben. Der Post sollte wirklich nur Auszüge (darum die Scans) aus der Popteen, die mich persönlich gestört haben, kommentieren.

      >Der ganze Post klingt einfach nach ‘Herum-ge-hate’.
      Dass du das so siehst, kann ich verstehen. Es mag sich nach hating anhören, aber das ist wirklich meine rein persönliche Meinung. Es sollte ja auch zeigen, was mich an dieser Ausgabe entnervt hat (s. Boy London outfit).

      >Ernsthaft mal: Glaubst du die Models können was für die Wünsche des Magazins? Ihnen wird doch vorgeschrieben wie sie posen sollen etc. und wenn das Magazin dünne Models will, arbeiten sie eben dafür dünn zu bleiben, weil es ihr Job ist.
      Nein. Aber ich glaube, die Models und die Redakteure wissen um ihren Einfluss bei den (jüngeren) Fans und könnten diesen positiv nutzen. Die Kritik daran, dass sie so dünn sind galt nicht ausschließlich den Models, sondern auch den Leuten, die die Shootings gestalten und Fotos bearbeiten (Photoshop). Dass erstere für ihren Lebensunterhalt sorgen müssen, ist mir schon klar.

      Zu sehen wie dünn sie sind/sein müssen und damit ihre Leser in ähnliche Situationen bringen, macht mich einfach wütend. Das ist meiner Meinung nach ein negativer Einfluss der Popteen.

      Ich hoffe, ich konnte mich dir gegenüber verständlich erklären 😉

  3. Its so funny where you wrote that a girl looks like an eight year old, as the Japanese describes it as “otona-kei” adult fashion. I can’t stand gyaru magazines anymore, they’re just full of bullshit. 😀

Say Hi!

