that issue…

Hey dolls!

Now THIS is going to be an actual text-post! Shocking, I know (though pictures will be included). I feel like I’ve done only three ‘real’ posts while all the other stuff was about outfits. Focus! I need to focus on what I actually wanted to on WML: Writing and expressing myself.
Okay I know Fashion is also a way to express yourself, but I wanted this blog to be versatile and look what happened. Le sigh.
This is what happens when people don’t set goals (what a funny coincidence, just watched Alex’ new video today!).

 


From one of my latest favorites, Bijin Hyakka

I’ve always been finding it hard to find a fashion magazine that fits my style. And over the last 3 years I realized: There is no ‘perfect magazine’ for my type. It’s not possible – because I use so many elements when dressing up (marine, vintage, dolly, etc pp) so I’d have to establish a magazine myself!
But since this will probably never happen, let’s see why I have to refer to japanese magazines in the first place:

  • German magazines don’t have so many targets. There are magazines for Girls from 12 to 16 like Bravo Girl (but honestly, no sixteen-year-old girl reads these here) or Mädchen. Then we have Glamour, which I often buy and is actually one of the few magazines I like. Unfortunately, its fashion spreads aren’t as interesting as they used to be. But still, there are many interesting sections. Its target?
    A trend and style guide for young, receptive and communicative young women. Our readers are educated, interested in fashion and confident. (source.)
  • Then we have the ususals: ELLE, VOGUE, GRAZIA, Cosmopolitan, etc. And we have magazines like Freundin, Brigitte and Petra (the latter ones’ titles are somewhat old-fashioned female given names. Cough.), also not really appealing.
  • Girls at my age mainly wear leggings, shirts (or very short dresses) and flats or sometimes very confusing high heels. I NEVER found this pretty, not on any girl I’ve ever met. I’ve never worn leggings myself (apparently it’s very comfy) and I probably never will (except if I EVER, EVER should get pregnant).
    But not only that trend didn’t find much appreciation on me. Super-short and tight dresses, high heels, cheap fabrics, boring colors and weird accessories also played a part.
  • Then there’s the fact that unless you’re over 20 and a smart student, your boobs are always your best accessory. Even in the most inappropriate situations (I’ve seen girls at my school wearing only shorts and a bikini top). To me, this was really disturbing. Of course, sometimes even I like to wear tops or dresses with a low neckline, but a) not all the time and b) in a classy way!
    To me, it seemed like if it wasn’t for t-shirts, nearly everything had a low neckline.

Emi Suzuki! Love her.

I was bored and decided to find myself something else. That was around the time when I got in touch with Lolita Fashion. I was 14 and was simply amazed by all those frills, lace, pretty hats, and so on. I started to sew my own dresses (with a lot of help from my lovely grandma) and when I had the money, I started buying the dresses myself. Unfortunately, I lost interest in this fashion since 2011, but since 2010 (I was sixteen), my interest in mainstream fashion increased.

The first mainstream magazine I read was Popteen- April 2009 to be exact -(oh irony). I was amazed by those girls with their lashes, their cute clothes and those awesome high heels! At the same time, the short skirts/dresses kinda scared me and the amount of make-up seemed just too much to me (AHAHAHA). It shouldn’t be until I discovered Seventeen that I fell in love with Japanese mainstream fashion. Seventeen seemed like a ‘light version’ of Popteen and was more user-friendly than the latter. This has changed a bit, but I still like the magazine a lot and nearly every outfit featured in there (no matter if I’d wear it or not) is pretty amazing.
And when I discovered Jmagazinescans, it was over. Everything went really quick, I learnt of ViVi, Jelly (one of my latest favorites), SCawaii, Blenda, Bijin Hyakka, CanCam (also one of my faves), JJ… It went so fast.

Aiku Maikawa, CanCam’s main model. She’s great!

I was totally lost in all those frills, high-heels, lace dresses and accessories! But there was one problem…

MOST JAPANESE BRANDS DON’T SHIP THEIR STUFF TO GERMANY AND ARE FUCKING EXPENSIVE.

Of course, there are shops/brands like Yumetenbo (or meanwhile EMODA) who ship internationally if you have a credit card (sigh) but unfortunately I can’t afford the shipping costs from Japan to Germany all the time. Plus, I often don’t fit in those clothes I desire so much.

In the last two years, people like me had luck because brands like H&M, Zara and some other shops in Germany (NewYorker, Ann Christine), adopted several Japanese trends.
H&M selling usamimis. Do you remember these?

But still, it’s really hard to find clothes I like. I hate color blocking, I don’t like neon pieces (which is like all over AC right now)…

Yeah I know. I make my life really hard…

Oh Jelly. So cool.

BUT don’t you just love the feeling of finally getting one of your absolute favorite pieces and you don’t mind pay more or wait for it? That joy when clothes you bought online finally arrive?
I do love it.

And I wouldn’t want to miss it. Because for me, nothing feels as good as working hard for your looks and getting good results.

xxx

scans by: koizumifan

bye gif Pictures, Images and Photos

PS.: I forgot to mention that WML will undergo major changes. Everything will be completed around September. It’s time for my blog’s first transformation!

Say Hi!

